Giveaway | Heathen: The Complete Omnibus by Natasha Alterici & Ashley A. Woods | Book Review

Heathens: The Complete Omnibus by Natasha Alterici & Ashley A. Woods

Heathen: The Complete Omnibus ~ Blog Tour by Rock Star Book Tours and The Girl Who Reads

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the HEATHEN by Natasha Alterici & Ashley A. WoodsBlog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

Heathens: The Complete Omnibus by Natasha Alterici & Ashley A. Woods

About The Book:

Title: HEATHEN: The Complete Series Omnibus Edition

Author: Natasha Alterici, Ashley A. Woods (Illustrations), Rachel Deering, Morgan Martinez

Pub. Date: May 17, 2022

Publisher: Vault Comics

Formats: Paperback, eBook

Pages: 336

Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Kindle, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD, Bookshop.org

Details: Heathens: The Complete Omnibus comes out on the 17th of May 2022, on amazon! However, each of the volumes is available on Amazon via Comixology, which is the best way to read e-comics or graphic novels! Each volume ranges from $1.99 to $8.99, so getting the omnibus at $9.99 for anyone who would love to read a queer Viking epic, with gods, mermaids, trolls, and valkyries to name a few.

Heathens: The Complete Omnibus by Natasha Alterici & Ashley A. Woods

Giveaway

Not gonna lie, I loved Heathen and I’m pretty sad that the giveaway is US only!

2 winners will receive a finished copy of HEATHEN, US Only.

Review for Heathens

The series starts with our protagonist, Aydis, coming out as queer and being banished from her community after her best friend kisses her. Aydis’ father isn’t like the others in his community, and recognising the strength in Aydis has always prepared her to be able to walk alone. Instead of killing her, he lets her go, knowing that they will probably never meet again.

Instead of giving up, Aydis sets out to free Brynhild , the leader of the Vikings who was imprisoned long ago in a wall of fire, after being punished by Odin for killing a man and going against his orders. While the punishment was to marry a mortal and live in exile, the fire was set up by the Valkyrie to keep cowards out. Aydis gets through the fire, but doesn’t want to marry Brynhild; she wants to end Odins tyranny and help other women. As she sets of on the quest, spread out over 12 volumes, she encounters different people, and creatures, and understands the way to move forward.

I absolutely loved this omnibus! I’m so glad I’ve been able to get this instead of needing to wait for each issue to come out. The art is stunning, the writing perfect, and each character is beautifully drawn out. I wasn’t perhaps the biggest fan of the last volume, I did find the end to be anticlimactic in some ways, but also very powerful; if that makes sense. I don’t want to spoil this for anyone, so all you need to know is this:

“I will live.”

More on Heathens

Blurb:

WOMAN. WARRIOR. VIKING. HEATHEN. OUTCAST.

THE GODS MUST PAY…

Born into a time of warfare, suffering, and subjugation of women, and exiled from her village for kissing another woman, the lesbian Viking warrior, Aydis, sets out to destroy the god-king Odin and end his oppressive reign. She is a friend to many as she is joined by mermaids, immortals, Valkyries, and the talking horse, Saga. But she is also a fearsome enemy to the demons and fantastic monsters that populate the land.
Heathen – The Complete Series Omnibus Edition trade paperback collects the entire twelve-issue series.

Soon to be movie directed by Catherine Hardwicke (Twilight, Red Riding Hood, & Lords of Dogtown)

Perfect for fans of Monstress, Helheim, and Northlanders.

Heathens on Amazon

About the authors

Natasha Alterici

Natasha Alterici is a writer and artist living in Tulsa, OK who has been working as a freelance artist for over ten years. Works include Heathen (Vault Comics), Dinosaur Project, Gotham Academy: Yearbook, Grayson Annual, The Lez Film Review, Mixed Signals, Lovers and Other Strangers, Transcience, and a number of others. When not drawing, she enjoys watching cooking shows with her wife and their two cats, Cheshire and Louise.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Amazon

Ashley A. Woods

Ashley A. Woods is a comic book artist, writer, & creator from Chicago known for her work on the “Niobe”, “Ladycastle” and “Tomb Raider” series. She got her start through self-publishing her action-fantasy comic series “Millennia War” which led to her career in comics and TV. After earning her degree in Film and Animation from IADT, she traveled to Kyoto, Japan where she presented her work in a gallery showcase called, “Out Of Sequence”. Recognized for her female illustrations and designs, her most prominent work is “Niobe: She is Life” with Stranger Comics.

Her latest work can be seen on HBO’s “Lovecraft Country”, DC’s “Wonder Woman Black & Gold 2” and “Jupiter Invincible” with Pulitzer Prize winning author Yusef Komunyakaa which premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival June 2021.

Website | Twitter | Instagram

One response to “Giveaway | Heathen: The Complete Omnibus by Natasha Alterici & Ashley A. Woods | Book Review”

  1. […] Giveaway | Heathen: The Complete Omnibus by Natasha Alterici & Ashley A. Woods | Book Review […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: